top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Owusu

Less Talk, More Action

“This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.”

- Habakkuk 2:3


After we lock the door to our past, we must have a vision for the future. Without a clear vision, it can be difficult to properly plan for it in the present. We all probably have a vision for our future stored in our thoughts, but the Lord calls us to take an extra step and make it tangible.


A year ago I decided to be intentional about my vision by creating a vision board. Before I started to create the finished product, I spent intimate time with the Lord, so the desires of my heart aligned with His plans for my life. It was hard for me to take this step because I was so excited to start crafting my board. However, I knew God’s plans for my life would overcome any vision I created on my own. It was very important for me to spend time on this step so my vision board could fulfill the purpose I intended it to.

Once I spent time with God, before I created the actual vision board, I decided to write out my vision. I wanted to have a detailed description for everything I put on the board, so I remembered what the future had in store for me. At first I was afraid of writing out detailed descriptions because I thought I’d be disappointed if my future did not turn out exactly like I described. But I had to learn that God’s plans are always open to changing, and I needed to be flexible.

Finally, I got to my favorite part; creating my vision board. This was the first time my vision for my future would become tangible. It was truly empowering to put what the Lord has spoken to me in private, on full display. Even though I always had my vision in mind, the board created a visual representation of what I was believing would take place in my life. When it seemed like God wasn’t working in my life, the vision board became my biggest motivator and reminded me that God would change my perspective before my situation.


When I look at what’s taken place over a year, I can see that the Lord has done beyond what my expectations were. Since I created my board, my relationship with God has changed. Now I understand that everything He allows to happen in my life, is to reveal His goodness. My vision board was a reflection of the harvest I would reap in the right season and putting it on my wall reminded me of that daily.

During quarantine, many of you may be spending time analyzing your current situations and thinking about how much more you want for your life. We can’t break generational curses just by saying “I will never be like that,” generational curses are broken when we take action. Create a vision board for your future family, friendships or career so you can witness God working in those areas of your life. When God gives us a promise, it never returns to Him void (Isaiah 55:11) it will always come to pass.

Making a vision board may seem like a small step, but it made an influential impact on my life. This week take some time to ask God what His vision is for your life and create a vision board! Your vision may not come to pass right away but be patient because it will be fulfilled. As a result, your life will turn into a testimony for the power of a vision.



Photo by Karyme França from Pexels

Xoxo,

Girl with Grace

19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page