top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Owusu

One month down, 11 to go

We’ve officially gotten through the first month of 2021! As you continue to read this, take some time to answer the following questions. How are you feeling? Have you stuck with your resolutions? Picked up any new habits or hobbies? Has the newness worn off?

For me, the first month of 2021 hasn’t been as organized as I would’ve hoped. I’ve spent a lot of time figuring out different aspects of my life. From trying to workout to creating content for this blog, I haven’t been true to prioritizing my purpose. But, the best thing about the Lord is that His mercies are new every day and as long as I’m still breathing, I have a chance to correct that. All things considered, there was something I did commit to! That is, I’ve completed 21 days of prayer and fasting.

This year, I decided to fast from social media and tv/entertainment for 12 hours each day. For some who loves to binge-watch the Real Housewives, this was a very difficult journey. I’m the type of person who turns to entertainment whenever I get some downtime. Watching tv is one of my favorite past times, so not being able to turn to it for 12 hours was challenging. But, within those 21 days, God pointed me towards some amazing Christ-Centered podcasts, youtube channels, and talk shows. Additionally, keeping my mind focused on Him helped me develop a consistent devotional routine. I was able to get up early and enjoy my quiet time without the pull of catching up on a new show or what’s going on in pop culture. I felt the renewal I so desperately needed and I know devoting those 21 days to the Lord is what’s going to keep me grounded through whatever is thrown my way this year.

Even though my fast added to my relationship with God, it wasn't easy. Because I couldn’t turn to entertainment for 12 hours, I often felt left out. When my roommates who happen to be two of my closest friends would gather in our living room to watch a show and take a break from school work, I stayed in my room. We all have very busy and different schedules even though we live together. That said, I cherish the time we get to spend all together and within the last few weeks of my fast, I missed out on our bonding time. As this feeling started to intensify, I wanted to end my fast early. I felt as though I was close enough to the finish line that a few extra days would not matter.

But, as I was journaling one night, I wrote down the phrase ‘the sacrifice is worth it,’ and for a moment, I felt a sense of comfort. That’s not to say that the next few days were easy, because they weren’t. But, looked back at all of the times in my life where He asked me to sacrifice. And looking back, if I didn't follow His directions, I would not be the person I am today. He called us to be set apart, and sometimes that means walking a journey alone for some time. As I stopped to evaluate my life, I realized a lot of the blessings I’ve been given were after a period of sacrifice. If you take anything away from this blog post, I want you to know that the sacrifice will be worth it, so keep relying on God and push forward. Sacrifice isn’t easy, but it’s worth it. Whether you see the fruit of your sacrifice the next day or the next year, God’s promises never come back to Him void.

So as this first month of 2021 comes to a close, remember that it’s okay if you didn’t meet all of your goals or if you fell out of your new year's resolutions. As long as you are still breathing, there is still time to get back on track! With February approaching, I’m excited to write some vulnerable blog posts about heartbreak, identity, and most importantly, the power of God’s love. Stay tuned and don’t forget to be kind to yourself this week! Your sacrifice is worth it!!



Xoxo,


Girl with Grace



Photo by Olya Kobruseva from Pexels

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page